Mother Moon

With that Moon Language

-by Hafiz

Admit Something:

Everyone you see, you say to them, “Love me.”

Of course you do not do this out loud, otherwise someone would call the cops.

Still, though, think about this, this great pull in us to connect.

Why not become the one who lives with a

full moon in each eye that is

always saying,

with that sweet moon language,

what every other eye in

this world is

dying to

hear?

As a new mom, I wake up some mornings, particularly this morning, and don’t recognize myself. I am now a mother. I lay in bed and look into my daughter’s eyes full of joy and love. Where did “I” go? You are no longer “YOU.” The “YOU” you always knew. The goddess divine sits within more awake, and more present as I embrace motherhood more fully.

I am learning what all mothers maybe realize at some point that you do wonder where “you” are in the midst of all that you do–in the taking care, the giving, the surrendering, and the devotion to nourishing your child, your partner, and your family. We at times forget ourselves, and our own needs. And, in this we can lose ourselves and our essence as women.

I think of my own mother. She devoted herself to raising us. She gave it her all. She nurtured us and we are all blessed for it. She still is a consummate mother full of continual love and nurturing. Yet, in this devotion I always felt that my mother gave of herself so much that she lost her own self.

How do we as women continue to nourish our family, and also ourselves? How do we not lose touch with our own essence, our own inner divine light, our own needs as we nurture, tend, and give?

In the short-time I have been a mother, I have learned that I need to ask myself, “what do I need today for myself”. I also feel that I need to do something that nourishes me like writing this blog, doing yoga, meditating, eating chocolate, taking a hot bath, teaching yoga, hiking, and studying. It is important that we also communicate our needs. We must state what we need to our family and our partners. We also need to honor our own inner-divine light, and step into our feminine daily. We need rituals. For me, it’s putting on my essential oils ,lighting a candle, giving myself reiki, and saying a mantra during meditation. It’s a simple reminder to remember.

Tonight, as the full moon embraces us, we bathe in its light to remind us to stay and be gentle with ourselves, and nourish our own beautiful essence.

Leave a Reply

