Autumn Love

When I was a little girl, maybe 3, my aunt asked me who I loved hoping that I’d say, “I love you, Aunt Carol.” Well, instead of saying that I said, “I love trees.” This story has been retold several times. Truthfully, the forest to me was always a magical place full of possibilities and secrets. It still is. Going into the quiet of the woods is like being in the heart of a temple, where all goes silent and you listen to the pulse. When, I came across this magnificent-mother tree in the middle of my hike, I remembered this story and childhood memories of the fall.

Autumn casts a spell of childhood memories, storytelling, and magic, which quenches our soul’s thirst for the comforts that come with this season. Preparing for the colder months ahead requires nourishing ourselves. We all can find simple ways, even when we are busy, to prepare our whole being.

One way I nourish myself is with food. The fall gives us an array of comforting foods to choose from. I like to add squashes, chillies (to warm the gut and prevent colds), ginger, turmeric, spice, soups/stews, and healthy fats (like Wild Caught Salmon) to my diet at this time of year. I also add more blood-building foods like beets, deep leafy greens, and organic free-range meats to my diet. I love to bake and if I do I make apple crisp, baked fruit desserts, and desserts spiced with cinnamon, cardamon, and ginger, and I avoid white/brown sugar and use maple syrup.

This is also the time I like to spend outdoors. Here in New Mexico, it is cool enough and still sunny to spend time hiking and just being outside. Breathing in the air is healing, and feels like a blessing.

Also, the introvert in me comes out to play during this time of year. I like settle and root in more spending more time in meditation, writing, and simply quieting down. My yoga practice calms down and includes more inversions, holding of asanas, and restoration. This truly is one of my favorite seasons, simply for the food, coziness, and walk inwards.

May you be blessed with nourishment in a way that soothes you this Autumn!

One of my favorite recipes to make in the fall is Butternut Squash Soup. Here’s my recipe. Enjoy!

Butternut Squash Soup
Ingredients:
2 large butternut squashes
1 onion diced
2 cloves garlic diced
3 carrots diced
3 celery stalks diced
1/2 bunch parsley roughly chopped
1/2 bunch sage roughly chopped
Vegetable or Chicken Broth (Organic preferred)
Ghee (clarified butter)
Olive Oil
Sea Salt & Pepper & Cayenne Powder to taste
1 TSP-1 TBS Ground Cumin to taste
1-2 TBS Maple Syrup

1. Peel and cube the butternut squash making sure to remove the seeds, and all of the skin. A vegetable peeler works well or a sharp knife to peel the squash.
2. Heat in a large soup pot ghee and olive oil. You can use 1 tablespoon of ghee and a few teaspoon of olive oil.
3. Add the diced carrots, celery, onion, garlic, and saute in the oil until the onions are clear. Now, is a good time to add some sea salt.
4. Then, add the butternut squash.
5. Next, add enough water and broth to cover all of the vegetables. You want to make sure there is enough liquid to cook the vegetables.
6. Add, salt, pepper, and a 1/2 TSP cumin, a portion of the parsley, and sage.
7. Cover the pot and let the vegetables soften. The vegetables are finished when they are tender and a fork will go through the squash.
8. Once, the vegetables are finished add more salt, pepper, ghee, and olive oil.
9. Let the soup cool.
10. Once the soup is cool, using an immersion blender if you have one or a food processor, puree the soup.
11. Then, mix in another tablespoon of ghee, maple syrup, and remainder of the parsley and sage.
You can serve with toasted pecans, pumpkin seeds, or chevre.
 

One thought on “Autumn Love

Leave a Reply

