Hands, for my mother.

My mom and I, like all mothers and daughters, have a special story. We have had challenging times, yet still we sustain and remain close. When, we lived together again for a year, I gained a new acceptance for her and whom she had become.

As mothers and daughters, we deeply share the bond of being women. We learn how to nurture from our mothers, and how to love. We are given the opportunity as women to realize the beauty and power of being able to create and give life. We are connected to the lineage of women in our families, and we can see how we carry these stories in our ancestry. In my family, the women love, give, and tend to others with such devotion and loyalty, we forget our own needs and self. I used to watch my grandmother with complete devotion feed us the most amazing food, and care for our every need. She didn’t ever sit down.  Then, I watched my mother do the same thing. Now, I see myself.   As daughters, we have this chance to radically change our ancestral story line and at the same time honor the women that have come before us.  Happy mothers day! Many blessings to all mothers in all forms.

“Hands
for my mother

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
as my own

Like lineage growing
from hand to hand
we share.

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
full of love that gives without hesitation

Like lineage sustaining
from hand to hand
we share.

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
wrapped in grace’s cloth

Like lineage sewing it’s ancestral yarn
from hand to hand
we share.

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
as lessons in womanhood

Like lineage learning
from hand to hand
we share.

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
as a story gives birth in quiet lines

Like lineage written
from hand to hand
we share.

I have come to know
my Mother’s hands
as my own.

Like lineage blessing
our hands
our story we share.

Leave a Reply

