Nowness

“Do not be afraid of what appears to be chaos or dissolution—embrace the full measure of your life at any cost. Bare your heart to the Unknown and never look back. What you are stands content, invisible, and everlasting. All means have been provided for our endless folly to split open into eternal delight.
Adyashanti

What happens when you are in a phase where you can’t seem to practice asana in a way you have intended or your body simply says, “Not right now ?” Or you are in the phase where asana just doesn’t feel right? Do you surrender? Do you listen to your body, or fight it’s natural intelligence?

Lately, every time, I do an inversion practice, my body wants rest immediately after. I lay there and analyze what it’s about, and try to figure out why I can’t seem to move from the floor. I took this as a sign that resting may be the best practice for now. However, I thought it would pass, and honestly my striving mind was having fun with this little exercise, which made me even more tired. So, I have surrendered to the ebb of earthy-tamasic-energy coming over me. I tried fighting this “happening” and have gone to the practice of letting it be. I encourage this “letting it be” place. We spend so much time striving and pushing forward in a constant fight with nowness, we lose the flavor and joy of letting the experience just be in its present state.

This week it seemed that everyone, myself included, was fighting with what was happening from cars breaking to some other sort of other test that may or may not have included an element of chaos. The question that arises can we sit with the experience that is happening right now, even if it involves perceived chaos? Can we just hang out in this let it be place and honor what is truly happening in the now? And, breathe deeply into the unknown?  I am encouraging a full on hanging out in the now session (however, I will not be upside down for this for the moment).

Here is my “let it be” and breathe deeply into the now mini-sequence.  Enjoy!

1. Supta Badha Konasana (15 Mins)

2. Supta Virasana (7 Mins)

-Broken toe pose

-Virasana

3. Dandasana to Paschimottansana (3 Mins)

4. Upavista Konasana (4 Mins) over bolster or blanket

5. Balasana (5 Mins)

6. Adho Mukha Svansana (10 breaths) rest third-eye on block with blanket

7. Balasana

8. Setu Bandha over bolsters (10 mins) or a bench if you have one

9. Svanasana (5 mins)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

