Love.

A friend asked me what I wanted to learn this year, and I said, “To learn how to love myself deeper.” It was my first instinctual response.  When I look back at some of the choices I have made, I see that love and or compassion was not in those choices. When you are in a dark space or difficult place in life, the choices we often make reflect that same icky sticky space we are in. This has been my experience.  We aren’t feeling love, so we go into self-blah-hate mode, and we draw in that energy from around us and then project it outwards. I admit complete self-blah-hate mode for the past few years, except for a few instances. It took a lot of going through some dark moments to realize what was happening. I reflect and think wow that was not fun. I fell down and it hurt like hell. We’ve all been there. And, if you haven’t I’d like to know how you have avoided it, because I tried.  Yet, those times are crucial because we are given the opportunity to learn about ourselves and love ourselves enough to say, “I’m not going to torture myself anymore or do this anymore, because it hurts too much.” This is when change happens and transformation takes place. Learning to love ourselves is like learning to understand and come to peace with ourselves and humanity. It’s like evolution. We evolve through love. Maybe, the most important question we can ask ourselves is, “Did I love today and how did I love?” See what happens…

 

“Let my love, like sunlight, surround you and yet give you illumined freedom”…Tagore

“Do what you love and give it your whole heart.” Van Helms, an artist I met in a gallery.

“Love is the way of being in the world.” Dr. Hawkins

“It is not so much the joy of being loved, as it is the joy of loving and being love itself.” Adyashanti

“A total acceptance of yourself brings about a total transcendence of yourself.” Adyashanti

Be Love & Love…

One thought on “Love.

  1. This is one of the best written pieces…so true for so many of us. I think that you should write a book! You are truly gifted! Thank you for this sharing.

Leave a Reply

